27
Apr
12

FAT Toronto 2012 (Day 3)

Balancing a day-job as a CIO while simultaneously pursuing my creative aspirations as a photographer doesn’t leave many hours left in the day. There are many fashion events around Toronto throughout the year, and I can’t attend them all. Yet, each year I try to attend FAT. FAT showcases some of the most unique and alternative fashion styles by an equally compelling group of diverse designers. Unlike your traditional pret-a-porter fashion shows, FAT dives much deeper and darker, with designers working with materials like pvc, rubber and latex within many of their showcased collections.

The venue itself is at 213 Sterling Rd. which is a converted industrial space perfect for this kind of show. I showed up late and had to find street parking a fair distance away, but as I got closer to the installation, there were designer’s assistants running back and forth from the backstage doors and I could hear the distinct bassline from the post-rock that was playing within. I was looking forward to the experience.

It was first intermission when I got inside, as I was late and missed the first round of designers, so I jumped backstage to do my meet/greets. I had my Fuji X-Pro 1 with an 28mm f2 lens, so that was perfect to get some great shots of the event.

Soon enough the show started with Briar Rose, followed by House of Etiquette. I really like the color teal, and clearly there was teal in abundance with many of House of Etiquette’s latex skirts and dresses. Cinched Tight Corsets was up next and her latex rose dress definitely caught my eye. I should definitely get busy planning some alternative wear shoots as it gets warmer and reach out to some of these designers! Right after this was Starkers Corsetry. Dianna @ Starker’s corsetry has been designing and making corsets for quite a number of years. She’s been at the last few FAT events and I know she probably spent a fair number of hours stitching and boning her collection of intricately detailed corsets judging by her facebook updates leading up to the show! If you’re in the market for something really different for your social or wedding, I highly recommend you give her website a visit! http://www.starkers.com. I shot this for Diana in 2010 for FAT.

Right after the second round of designers, an intermission followed by a dance presentation by “The Bored Collective.” As mentioned on www.fashionarttoronto.ca , The story explains through dance a mermaid shackled by her own chastity and her transformation into a seductress ultimately in control of her sexuality and power over male desire. Shilo Morton, the creator of “The Bored Collective,” has definitely used her experience in textile art and jewellery design in creating some of the prop effect pieces used in the dance. I’ve always found an attraction to contemporary dance and performing arts, and I do regret missing the opening Ballet piece. I’ll have to drive a bit faster next year!

A few more designers followed with pieces from Jade Kinrade, Pope Joans, Pact Fashion and Sakhuja. Sakhuja really caught my attention at the end wrapping up the evening, from her opening dance piece, to the gold colored pieces and the special effects blood used on her “zombie” models. Great stuff.

By the end of the show, after running into a bunch friends, models and designers, we seemed to all have gotten the munchies, so a trip to the Don Don Izakaya on Dundas/Bay was in the cards for all of us!

0 Responses to “FAT Toronto 2012 (Day 3)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

jayphotoworks

jayphotoworks flickr!

Mexico w/ Wendy

Mexico w/ Wendy

Mexico w/ Wendy

More Photos

jayphotoworks tweets!

Calendar

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

