05
Dec
09

Lightroom + Secondary Display

As a portrait photographer, about 70% of the photos I capture are in portrait format. Setting my monitor in portrait format wasn’t an option, so I added a secondary monitor in portrait orientation. Lightroom has great support for multi-monitors, so browsing and previewing is a snap. I also I ran into a bit of a snag with my Spyder2 calibrator in windows 7, as it is officially no longer supported in Microsoft’s newest OS. After some rummaging around, I found that downloading the newest spyder2express installer from Colovision’s website and entering my previous Spyder2Pro serial number allows me to install the software and calibrate both of my displays properly.

After that was done, a quick trip into lightroom allows me the full use of the Secondary Display menu. As you can see to the right, Adobe has given quite a bit of flexibility with this feature. As both of my monitors has 1920×1200 support, I setup Lightroom to render my previews at 2048pixels for maximum speed when doing my initial selects/rejects. I find it the best balance for most shoots unless I expect to be shooting groups or photos with many small details where 1:1 previews would reduce my workflow time since I would be pixel-peeping in and out frequently.

Click http://www.flickr.com/photos/jayphotoworks/4159809154/ to see what type of stuff I have on my desk when I took this shot.

0 Responses to “Lightroom + Secondary Display”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

jayphotoworks

jayphotoworks flickr!

jayphotoworks tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

